The Latin word trivium means “the place where three roads meet” (tri + via); hence, the subjects of the trivium are the foundation for the quadrivium.

There are three parts to The Trivium

  • GRAMMAR: K–6th grades—content and facts
  • LOGIC: 7–9th grades—reason and understanding
  • RHETORIC: 10–12th grades—discourse on ideas to build wisdom

Click the links below for a thorough explanation and history of The Trivium.

“English Class” vs. “The Trivium”

10 Differences Between Conventional Christian Schools and Classical Christian Schools

Dorothy Sayers Is the Answer to John Dewey